Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
What is the jail time for a second DUI in South Carolina?
The South Carolina DUI laws changed in 2008 when the Governor signed a bill into law suspending the driving privilege when an individual refuses to a chemical test to determine their blood alcohol content (BAC). The State also enforces what are known as “zero tolerance laws” which means that any driver under the age of 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher will also face DUI penalties.
Any driver who is arrested with a BAC of .08 for their first offense will face a minimum of 48 hours in jail, with a possibility of 30 days behind bars. They will be required to complete two days of public service and have their driver’s license suspended for 6 months. The penalties for second offenses are outlined in the table below:
Second DUI Conviction
Possible Jail Time
Minimum & Maximum Fines
BAC of .10 or under
5 days to 1 year
$2,100 to $5,100
BAC of .10 but under .16
30 days to 2 years
$2,500 to $5,500
BAC Above .16
90 days to 3 years
$3,500 to $6,500
Those who are guilty of multiple offenses may be ordered by the court to install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles registered in their name. In addition, they may also be required to undergo an alcohol or drug intervention program.
Many people believed the South Carolina DUI laws were too lenient until recent legislation was passed in 2008. The penalties are much harsher for anyone convicted of a DUI. If you are found guilty of causing serious bodily injury to another person while intoxicated, you may be facing felony charges. This is when you need to hire an experienced DUI attorney to help fight these charges and keep you from a lengthy prison sentence.
Copyright © 2014 Nolo ® | Security & Privacy | Terms and Conditions | Disclaimer — Legal information is not legal advice
Copyright © 2014 Internet Brands. All rights reserved.
Terms and Conditions |
Advertising for Lawyers |
New Articles |
DUI and DWI (74)