Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
What is the punishment for an OVI conviction in Ohio?
Under Ohio DUI laws, it is illegal to operate or drive or attempt to operate or drive a motor vehicle while you are under the influence of intoxicants, drugs, alcohol or a combination thereof together with a BAC level of 0.08% or more.
To be charged under Ohio DUI laws, you need not display signs of impairment. The mere fact that your BAC level is 0.08% or higher is enough for you to be arrested. You can also be arrested under Ohio DUI laws if you BAC is lower than 0.08% but you display
In Ohio a first time DUI/OVI conviction can result in a jail term of 3 days. Instead of the jail term, the court can order you to undergo a 72 hour intervention program. The fine for a first time offender is $250 to $1000. Your driver’s license can be suspended for 1 year of you refuse to submit yourself to a chemical test. The penalties increase for subsequent DUI convictions. A fourth DUI conviction will result in mandatory vehicle seizure. However a prior DUI conviction of more than 6 years cannot be used to enhance the penalty for a subsequent offense.
In Ohio, a DUI/OVI conviction can result in your auto insurance rates increasing. In fact the increase can be substantial even for a first time offender.
You will be charged with a felony in Ohio if you injure or kill someone while driving drunk. A felony conviction will result in a jail term exceeding one year. You will also have a felony record.
Consult with an experienced Ohio DUI attorney if you are charged under Ohio DUI laws. A conviction can have far reaching consequences.
Copyright © 2014 Nolo ® | Security & Privacy | Terms and Conditions | Disclaimer — Legal information is not legal advice
Copyright © 2014 Internet Brands. All rights reserved.
Terms and Conditions |
Advertising for Lawyers |
New Articles |