North Dakota DUI Laws and Penalties

Related Ads

North Dakota DUI Laws

North Dakota Implied Consent
1st Offense DUI Penalties
2nd Offense DUI Penalties
3rd Offense DUI Penalties
4th Offense DUI Penalties

Under North Dakota DUI laws, individuals may be face harsh penalties for violating the state's laws, including jail time, hefty fees and loss of driving privileges. The best way to fight any DUI charges is with the help of a North Dakota DUI lawyer. They have been successful at getting charges reduced or dropped.

Blood Alcohol Concentration Levels in North Dakota

There are two ways the police can charge you with being in violation of North Dakota DUI laws:

1.      You have notable impairment in your driving ability, such as through failed field sobriety testing or your driving pattern. Mobile videotaping may also be used to prosecute you.

2.      You are over the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level for the state.

In North Dakota, a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher warrants arrest. More so, if you are under the age of 21, you will be in violation of the state's zero tolerance level if you have any alcohol in your system. A High BAC is one over .18 percent. This may warrant additional charges and penalties. This includes additional jail time and fines, at the discretion of the judge.

Impaired Consent Laws

North Dakota also has impaired consent laws, which means that if you operate a vehicle in the state, you are agreeing to submit a chemical based test (blood, urine or breath) to determine your blood alcohol concentration. If you refuse a chemical test, your license is immediate suspended. A first refusal will require a 25 day permit to be used by you for driving needs until a hearing for your case. However, note that if you plead guilty to DUI, you will still face suspension according to the penalties imposed. Also, if you refuse a chemical test, you will be unable to obtain a temporary restricted license.

First Offense of North Dakota DUI Laws

A first offense of these laws will warrant the following penalties:

  • You will be charged with a misdemeanor.
  • You will be fined at least $250
  • Your driver's license will be suspended up to 180 days
  • You may receive a restricted license after 30 days of suspension
  • You may need to visit an addiction facility for screening

Second North Dakota DUI Laws

A second offense is charged to you if you have been convicted of a second DUI offense within 7 years of a previous one. The state has a 7 year look back period. North Dakota DUI penalties for second offenses include:

  • Charged with a misdemeanor
  • Fines up to $500
  • 1 year suspension of your driver's license, without a restricted license
  • Minimum of 5 days in jail or in some cases, 30 days of community service

Third North Dakota DUI Laws

A third offense occurring within 7 years will warrant even harsher penalties, including:

  • You will be charged with a misdemeanor.
  • You will face a 3 year driver's license suspension
  • You will have to pay at least $1000 in fines
  • You will spend 60 days in jail
  • In most cases, you will need to see alcohol and/or drug evaluation and treatment

Fourth North Dakota DUI Laws

A fourth offense within seven years will warrant additional charges and penalties, including:

  • Charged with a misdemeanor
  • You will face a 3 year driver's license suspension
  • You cannot get your driver's license back until you complete a full addiction treatment and have no record of charges for at least two consecutive years
  • You will spend 180 days in jail.

Fifth North Dakota DUI Laws

A fifth charge is quite harsh. You will be charged with a Class C Felony and will spend up to 5 years in jail.

Hire a North Dakota DUI Lawyer

As you can see, the penalties for breaking North Dakota DUI laws are very harsh. The best way to fight any charges you are dealing with is by working with a North Dakota DUI lawyer. They have experience mitigating DUI cases and can help you to get charges reduced or dropped.

Contact North Dakota Drunk Driving Attorneys


Contact our Attorneys to get more information about Drunk Driving in North Dakota:

  • Bismarck
  • Dickinson
  • Fargo
  • Grand Forks
  • Jamestown
  • Mandan
  • Minot
  • Wahpeton
  • West Fargo
  • Williston
LA-NOLO4:DRU.1.6.5.20141022.29090