Nevada DUI State Law

Related Ads

Nevada DUI Laws

Nevada Implied Consent Law
1st Offense DUI Penalties
2nd Offense DUI Penalties
3rd Offense DUI Penalties

A Critical Warnin.g: If you are arrested for a violation of Nebraska DUI laws, you have just 10 days from your arrest to file a request for a hearing. If you fail to do so, your license will be automatically suspended. If you hope to get DUI charges dropped or reduced, hire an experienced Nebraska DUI lawyer who has been successful in accomplishing this in the past.

Nebraska Blood Alcohol Concentration and Laws

If you are found in violation of Nebraska DUI laws, you will be charged with two cases. One is a criminal case in which you may have to pay fines, face jail time and other penalties. The second is a case with the Nebraska DMV which may involve losing your license. Police officers can arrest you if they suspect you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol on several grounds:

  • You fail a chemical test, such as your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is .08 or higher.
  • You fail field sobriety tests
  • Your physical appearances indicates impairment
  • Your driving indicates impairment

Note: if you are under 21, .02 is the BAC level of violation. There is a zero tolerance law does allow for a person under 21 to be charged with consumption of alcohol at any level.

Also, if your BAC is at .15 percent or higher, this means that enhanced penalties may be in used. This may mean fines and jail terms are doubled, at the desecration of the sentencing judge.

If you have failed any of these tests, work with a Nebraska DUI attorney to request a hearing, which is done in front of a jury trial.

Implied Consent

In Nebraska, driver's consent to provide a chemical based test to determine their level of intoxication under implied consent laws in the state.

If you refuse to take a chemical test, your license may be immediately confiscated. A court hearing is schedule where your license will be suspended for at least one year.

1st Time Offense of Nebraska DUI Laws

A first offense is likely to warrant the following Nebraska DUI penalties:

  • Minimum of 7 days in jail, up to 60 days in jail
  • A mandatory 6 months loss of driver's license is in place
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Alcohol assessment must be obtained with alcohol treatment programs used as needed, at your expense
  • Charged with a misdemeanor

2nd Time Offense of Nebraska DUI Laws

A second conviction of DUI will likely lead to the following penalties:

  • Mandatory 30 days in jail
  • Driver's license suspension of a minimum of 1 year
  • A $500 fine is imposed
  • Alcohol assessment and treatment required
  • Vehicle immobilized for up to 8 months
  • License plates are confiscated
  • An ignition interlock device may be installed
  • Charged with a misdemeanor

3rd Time Offense of Nebraska DUI Laws

A third offense may cause the following penalties:

  • A minimum of 90 days in jail, up to 1 year
  • Driver's license suspension for at least 2 years, up to 15 years
  • A fine of $600 is imposed
  • Alcohol treatment program required
  • Vehicle immobilized for up to 8 months
  • Ignition inter lock device may be needed
  • Charged with a misdemeanor

Hire a Nebraska DUI Lawyer

As you can see, you could face significant penalties for violating Nebraska DUI laws. Yet, with the aid of a Nebraska DUI lawyer, you may be able to get the charges dropped or reduced. Attorneys can be successful at reducing fines, jail time and driver's license suspensions.

Contact Nevada Drunk Driving Attorneys


Contact our Attorneys to get more information about Drunk Driving in Nevada:

  • North Las Vegas
  • Pahrump
  • Reno
  • Sparks
  • Sun Valley
  • Winnemucca
LA-NOLO1:DRU.1.6.1.20140626.27175