Rhode Island DUI State Law
Rhode Island DUI Laws
Rhode Island DUI laws are commonly referred to OUI laws, which means Operating Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs. If you have been charged with DUI in Rhode Island it is imperative that you seek out an experienced Rhode Island DUI lawyer to help you get your case heard. With their experience, they may be able to get charges reduced or dropped.
Rhode Island Blood Alcohol Concentration and Laws
There are two reasons that a police officer will arrest you for DUI.
1. They have evidence of impaired driving, such as poor driving patterns, failure of sobriety tests, or symptoms of alcohol impairment from your physical appearance. (NO BAC is needed)
2. You fail a chemical test, (blood, breath or urine).
Under Rhode Island law, a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 percent or higher warrants charges of DUI. If your blood alcohol concentration is .15 percent or higher, this warrants enhanced penalties, which may include up to double sentencing (jail, fines and suspension) depending on your case and offense.
Rhode Island Implied Consent Laws
Implied consent laws state that individuals who operate a vehicle on the state's roads are automatically giving their consent to provide a chemical test to determine intoxication. If a police officer suspects you may be driving under the influence, they have the right to request such a test.
If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license is immediately suspended for 90 days. During a hearing, a court can also impose additional penalties including community service, fines and drunk driving school, JUST for refusing to take this test.
A first offense will warrant the following Rhode Island DUI penalties:
- You will be fined up to $300
- 10 to 60 hours of community service is required
- You may spend up to a full year in jail
- Driver's license suspended for at least 30 days, up to 180 days
- Driving while intoxicated courses may be required
- The charge is a misdemeanor
Rhode Island has a look back period of five years. If you are convicted of a second DUI within a five year period from the first conviction, you will be charged with a second offense. This warrants stricter penalties including:
- Fine up to $400
- Driver's license suspension for 1 to 2 years
- Mandatory 10 days in jail, up to 1 year
- Alcohol and/or drug treatment program is required
- Installation of an ignition interlock device is required, after suspension
- The charge is a misdemeanor
A third offense within five years of your first warrants the following penalties:
- You will be charged with a FELONY
- Mandatory $400 fine
- Driver's license suspension of at least 2 years, up to 3 years
- Sentenced to at least 1 year in jail
- Alcohol and drug treatment program required
- Ignition interlock device installed for two years after your sentence
- Your vehicle may be seized and SOLD by the state
Hire a Rhode Island DUI Lawyer
As you can see, just making a few mistakes can cause you to be charged with harsh DUI penalties in the state. If you have been found to be in violation of these DUI laws, it is imperative that you contact a specialized Rhode Island DUI lawyer to work with you to fight the charges. They can mitigate the case on your behalf, often getting a reduction in charges, fines, jail time and suspensions.
- If you have been charged with a DUI in Rhode Island, Submit Your Case for a Free Review from a skilled DUI Attorney.
Contact Rhode Island Drunk Driving Attorneys
Contact our Attorneys to get more information about Drunk Driving in Rhode Island: