Florida DUI Vehicle Impoundment
DUI offenses in Florida are serious business. The state displays this by subjecting individuals to a variety of expenses and punishments. One of those punishments is impounding their vehicle. The periods of impoundment increase with each DUI conviction if they occur within a certain period of time. For a first offense, an individual's vehicle is impounded for 10 days. If the second offense occurs within five years, the period is 30 days. A third conviction within 10 years can result in the vehicle being impounded for 90 days.
The costs of having a vehicle impounded are the responsibility of the owner, and it generally involves a noteworthy bill. Some individuals are able to reduce the financial burden by having their vehicles immobilized instead. This involves having a company place a mechanism on the vehicle that prevents it from being driven and then having it removed at the end of the immobilization period. The law forbids the period of immobilization or impoundment from occurring during the same time that the individual is serving a sentence for his DUI. Therefore, when the individual is sentenced to jail, this punishment does not begin until he is released.
If certain circumstances exist, a person may be able to avoid having his vehicle impounded or immobilized. Under Florida law, the reliance of family members on the vehicle is a valid reason to waive this aspect of a person's punishment. However, it needs to be shown that the family members have no other source of transportation. Another means to avoid these measures is to show that vehicle in question is a work vehicle. The law recognizes a work vehicle as one that operates solely by an employee or business of the accused.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Florida, realize that you are facing numerous consequences. To help reduce the overall impact of this charge on your life, consult an experienced DUI lawyer who can provide the defense that you need.